Posted by: Court | May 30, 2008

Uno

A re-cap of my life as of late:

Tim and I celebrated our one year anniversary on Monday. It’s hard to believe that the first year flew by so quickly. I can remember all the stress leading up to our wedding day and how antsy I was. I just wanted everything to go as planned. Thankfully, all the stress melted away when I met my husband at the altar.

I went to a bridal shower a few months ago and we all wrote pieces of advice for the bride-to-be on a keepsake pillow. Everyone wanted to know what I had to say, since I was the most recently married. Oddly enough, I had already written my advice inside my card: Stay best friends, never go to sleep angry (most things truly aren’t worth fighting about), laugh often, and be excellent to each other (that last one came from Tim – apparently it’s from “Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure.”).

We all know that no marriage is perfect, but I stand by those pieces of advice and think they are key to a successful marriage – although, I should have put “communication” in there somewhere, too.

Anyways, life is pretty good. I’m working on a freelance writing project right now, so I get home, write, eat dinner with Tim, make some phone calls and write some more before we settle in for the night. It’s busy but enjoyable.

We’ve been catching up on “Lost” for the past couple of weeks. We had seen bits and pieces of some of the new episodes and got interested, so we borrowed the DVDs for seasons one and two from Beth and Kenny. Some parts are slow and redundant (how many times are they going to show an island dweller in the jungle, startled by a noise coming from the bushes?), but overall the storyline keeps moving forward, so we’re hooked!

Tonight we are hosting an old friend for dinner. Tim has known Ben since high school, and they were roommates for their first two years in college. After that, Ben joined the Army and has been overseas for most of the past four-five years. I’ve seen him a couple of times when he was on leave, but it has been quite a while, so we’re glad he’s home safe now.

Tomorrow I am having lunch with another friend I haven’t gotten to see much in a while. I sponsored Lindsey through RCIA last year and witnessed her coming into the Church at Easter Vigil. She is such a sweet woman with a good heart and I really enjoyed getting to know her for nine months.

For those who don’t know, RCIA stands for Rite of Christian Initiation for Adults. It is the process for those who are interested in becoming Catholic or learning more about Catholicism. I went through the same process in 2006. Every Sunday for almost nine months, we gather in one of the church’s meeting-type rooms and learn. We start of with a basic history of the church and work our way into specfic teachings of the church such as prayer; Heaven, Hell and Purgatory; Mary and the saints; the Liturgy; and of course, the Sacraments (amongst other things). So you spend nine months sitting with the same people and learning about them – not only their faith journey, but their personal lives as well – and it makes for a truly beautiful experience at Easter Vigil. Tim and I plan on continuing to sponsor as long as it is God’s call to us. We learn something new each time and it really strengthens not only our relationship with God, but our marriage as well.

A good resource is www.catholic.org, but it would probably be daunting to someone who wasn’t familiar with the teachings of Catholicism. That being said, please feel free to ask me any questions you may have – there are a lot of misconceptions out there! If I don’t know the answer, I will do my best to find it for you. And of course, if you think you might be interested in learning more, call up your local parish (catholic.org has a church finder at the top of the Web site) and ask about RCIA! You don’t have to promise to do anything – it’s really just an open learning experience, and if you feel called by God to come into the Church, then go for it!

I’d love to hear any stories you have along the way!

Phew! I didn’t plan on explaining what RCIA was, but as you can see, it is something close to my heart. Anyways, I sponsored Lindsey and we had a few classes after Easter Vigil, but aside from bumping into her before we took my grandma to Mass a couple of weeks ago, I haven’t seen her! We’ve chatted a bit via e-mail, but I am looking forward to lunch and a chance to catch up.

*I didn’t publish this post yesterday when I started to write it…so I’ll wrap it up now.*

Lunch with Lindsey was wonderful – we saw a sweet baby boy who was probably less than a month old and a sweet old man who had a golden retriever-looking dog on a leash that he dropped. The dog started to walk away when the old man couldn’t bend over to pick up the leash and I wanted to go outside and help. But the little old man called to his dog and the dog turned around and came walking back. The man lovingly petted his dog, tied his leash to the table, and went inside to order. So cute.

It was great to see Ben last night as well. We truly are so thankful that he is home safe! Tim made tortillas and grilled chicken, so we had burritos for dinner and cheesecake for dessert.  Yum!

That’s about it for now…

Leave a Reply

Categories

