Posted by: Court | June 13, 2008

Christmas ornaments in June

Last night I got home from work and was on the phone with my mom. Tim was playing Tiger Woods on Wii, and told me we were going to dinner with his parents. His dad stays with us from time to time because he has shows to direct that are nearby, and it makes more sense to save money on the hotel room by staying with us. But with short notice, I went into a cleaning frenzy. I vacuumed the living room, tidied up the guest room, and then felt the need to start vacuuming our bedroom and the stairs.

As I was running my hand over the carpet on the stairs, I felt a shooting pain in my thumb and yelped. Tim came over as I was squeezing my thumb; a shard of red glass was sticking out of it! We think it must have been a broken Christmas ornament that got tracked around the apartment and was never caught by the vacuum – does this mean I am a bad vacuumer? Anyway, it really hurt; despite the small size of the piece of glass, it had punctured me pretty well! I was afraid to take it out for some reason, but Tim told me to just go ahead and pull it out, so I did. And it didn’t hurt. I started running warm water over it, and Tim got out the hydrogen peroxide to pour over the hole in my thumb. Then he put neosporin on a bandaid and fixed me up. It was throbbing for a while, and then started to itch, but now it’s just sore.

So after I got fixed up, I cleaned the mirror and sink fixtures in our bathroom and called it quits since we had to leave. We went to one of our favorite Italian restaurants and Tim and I split a pizza. Their pizza is so good! The combination of cheeses is amazing and the crust is thin and crispy – just the way I like it. We shared creme brulee for dessert, and I hadn’t tried theirs before – it was delicious!

After dinner we came home and I figured out my hours for the freelance project I did. Tim was playing Wii again, so I decided to leave him alone and put off the invoice until today. Tim’s dad went to sleep pretty quickly, and Tim and I watched one of the craziest episodes of Lost that we’ve seen so far.

The next bit is slightly crazy, so I’ll timeline it out.

12 a.m. Fall asleep.

3 a.m. Awakened a bit after 3 a.m. by some crazies I can only assume were college students – because, honestly, who else is awake at 3 a.m. on a weeknight, or even a weekend, for that matter? – who were swimming in the pool. I made the stupid mistake of going to the window and looking out of it for a few minutes, wishing I had the phone number for the “peace officer,” or whatever he’s called, that lives in our complex. So I had a bit of trouble going back to sleep.

3:30-3:45 a.m. Finally fall back asleep. I fell asleep probably around 3:30-3:45

5:15 a.m. Wake up again when Tim’s alarm went off for him to take his dad to the airport.

5:30 a.m. Fall back asleep.

6:30 a.m. Wake up briefly when Tim gives me a kiss on the cheek as he crawls back into bed.

6:30:15 a.m.  Fall back asleep.

7:15 a.m.  Alarm goes off.

Ugh.

I know in my last entry I said I was going to talk more about my plans for birth announcements, but after talking it over with Tim last night, there is a lot that needs to be done still. Basically, it is pretty simple for me to design these announcements. I can use Photoshop to create basic options on my own. But I’ve really enjoyed using some digital scrapbooking elements as of late. I’ve bought a few “kits” on-line and have been creating basic templates for announcements. The thing is, in order to sell them, I’d have to buy the commercial license for each kit. The license is $25 per kit. So I’m going to make as many announcement templates as I can for now, and see if my templates are as diverse as I’d like with the kits that I have, and then buy the licenses.

I also have to price printing and envelope costs and figure out how best to market my business. Oh, and come up with a name! I am actually really excited, and trying not to get ahead of myself. I’m not in any huge hurry to get everything up and running – just doing what I can in the evenings and on the weekends.

Leave a Reply

Categories

