Posted by: Court | September 11, 2008

Really, how do people come up with good titles?

Even though it’s pretty far out of my way, I’m trekking over to babysit our goddaughter after work tonight. Tim will be there for a couple of hours, and we love spending time with the little munchkin, holding and snuggling her, talking to her (she’s starting to “talk” back!), watching her try to crawl, feeding her a bottle, putting on her jammies and saying prayers before lying her down for the night.

She’s such a precious little baby, and sometimes I want her to stay this age forever! We had so much fun at the zoo (I’ll have to post pictures) last weekend. One of the first animals we saw was the warthog, and she watched him so intently at first, then squealed with delight as he walked around the dirt pen. I love the pictures I took that capture her awe and curiosity about the animals and other sights and sounds.

Well, I have been battling the k2, p2 rib for about a week now. It’s really very easy, but I was misinformed by something I found while Googling. That’s the problem with the Internet – while most information is helpful, some of it can really send you in teh wrong direction. For instance, when I was reading on how to achieve the rib, I read that it can lead to curling of the product.

Determined to avoid this curling, I took the advice of one poster and started and ended each row in k2 (took a multiple of 4 and added a k2 at the end). I tried this several times, on two different types of yarn, and it was looking nothing like a rib! I was so frustrated! I kept turning it, tilting it, thinking, “Maybe this angle will help me see the pattern!” But alas, it looked ridiculous. Well, truthfully, the pattern didn’t look that bad, but it certainly didn’t look like a rib.

Anyway, last night, after I was about to give up and use a different pattern, I made one last-ditch effort to figure out my error. And as it turns out, if you end a row in k2, you have to start the next in p2, and vice versa, for the rib to work. Since I was ending and starting each row in k2, it was throwing the whole thing off (not sure why – if the stitches all lined up, I’d think it would work)! See, the Internet can be used for good! : ) So I cast on 20 stitches and was knitting it up very nicely, but after about 20 rows, I kept thinking about how narrow the scarf looked. I told myself it was fine, since I had already re-started this scarf way too many times. But the more I looked at it, I kept thinking it was too skinny. And since I paid $15/skein for this yarn, and was going to continue to invest time into this rib scarf, I promptly pulled the work off my needle and started over, this time with 32 stitches. And I am much, much happier.

Sorry for the long story, but I am so thrilled that I finally figured it out.

In completely unrelated news, a trip that I’d planned with my best girlfriends from high school has been postponed indefinitely. And I’m not really surprised. Frustrated, but not surprised. After a summer rafting trip fell through, I suggested a meet-up in Chicago (where J is working on her Ph.D.), and the immediate response was a resounding YES by everyone except M, who hadn’t yet replied. I checked flight info. for everyone, and it was very affordable. Finally, M wrote back and said she wouldn’t be able to make it because she has been traveling so much for business, and that would only be her second weekend back in town. I replied to everyone and said we’d miss her but we really needed to decide if we were going to go so we could act fast on the good plane ticket prices.

Sure enough, the next day, K said she wasn’t going to make it because she had a seminar two days after we’d get back from the trip. (??) Then H replied and said she was going to be busy since she’s teaching this fall, so she couldn’t make it either. I kind of laughed to myself because it wasn’t that unexpected. But it’s still ridiculous.

If you’re not willing to sometimes live a fast-paced, busy, crazy life, you’ll miss out on opportunities to make awesome memories. If you always say, “that’d be nice,” or “maybe another time,” or “sometime soon,” you’ll never get around to it. It will become “that would have been nice,” or “I wish I could have…”

And really, it wasn’t going to be that big of an interference with plans. Get a grip, take initiative, say YES, and look forward to the memories that will be made, rather than sit around and pretend like you’re too busy to be bothered. I still love these girls to death, but I am really frustrated.

Leave a Reply

Categories

