Posted by: Court | September 17, 2009

The thin line

There’s believing and hoping that this will be our month, having faith that God wants us to be happy. And, He told us to be fruitful and multiply. We’re trying.

I want to believe and have faith, but I also am afraid to get my hopes up. There’s a thin line between the two. I just know that it hurts too much when I’m let down again.

I got a rash on my neck on Monday, which I figured was just from my sweater. But the next day it had spread to my arm, chin, torso and chest. And yesterday it had spread to my other arm. Awesome. It didn’t itch, but I decided to go to the doctor yesterday to make sure it wasn’t contagious. I saw her PA (after close to an hour-and-a-half wait, but that’s another story), and she said she thought it was folliculitis (inflammation of hair follicles), but she wanted to run tests for MMR (yikes!) to be sure.

She wrote a prescription for some antibiotics, but I told her we were trying to get pregnant and I was 6 dpo, and I wanted to know if the medication would affect a baby. So she ordered a qualitative hcg blood test (I hate when they do qualitative, btw). I was thinking 6 dpo is way too early for anything to come up. I got the phone call this morning that the pregnancy test came back negative, as did the MMR screens (thank God), so I should start the antibiotics.

After some Googling, I’ve determined that this mild case of folliculitis should go away on its own in a couple of weeks. It doesn’t itch and the spreading has stopped, so I’m going to leave it alone. I don’t want to risk anything if I am, in fact, pregnant.

I just really don’t think 6 dpo is giving any potential baby a chance to implant, let alone, start producing hcg that will be circulating in my blood. Implantation usually occurs between days 7-10, and it can still take 4+ days after that for hcg to be detected. If I get BFNs next weekend, and the folliculitis has gotten worse, I may start the antibiotics, but otherwise, I’m leaving it alone.

Leave a Reply

Categories

