Posted by: Court | May 14, 2010

Search for a new OB

First of all, I am LONGING to want food again. I have all of these grand ideas for meals for when I feel better again. Everything from fancy dinners downtown to a simple plate of sour cream chicken enchiladas (complete with the most delicious rice and refried beans topped with cheese. I literally clean my plate every time.) from a mom and pop place nearby.

But at the same time, I’ve eaten Rice Krispies for lunch every day this week. I didn’t really eat dinner Wednesday night. And last night I ate probably 1/2 of the turkey and 1/2 of the cornbread for a kid’s meal from Boston Mar.ket. Which was forced.

Good news? I can start the process of weaning off Crin.one tomorrow, and will be completely done with it by the 23rd (only six more doses!). I will start Pro.me.trium back up tonight and take 200mg/night until 12 weeks, when I will begin weaning off that as well. All told, I should be done with all forms of progesterone supplementation by 14 weeks.

Buuuuut…as predicted yesterday when I contacted my OB’s nurse to try to set up an appointment, she has not yet called me back. I can’t remember how much I blogged about my problems with her during my last pregnancy, but she is a NIGHTMARE to deal with. I love my OB, but I can’t go through my entire pregnancy fighting for her to call me back. Her voicemail says that if you call after 4, your call may not be returned until the following business day. Right, completely understandable. But I called at 9:30 YESTERDAY morning. You are not that busy.

I had problems with her not calling me back for DAYS last go-round. This was unacceptable as I was wrought with fear and panic, cramping, had relatively low numbers, and I just wanted to know what was going on.

So I have begun the search for a new OB. It’s equally nightmarish. I’ll find one that looks good, but see one horrific review, and that’s enough to send me scampering away. I had Tim text a friend whose wife is pregnant and see where she’s going. She had a miscarriage in January ’09 and it took them a while to get pregnant again, so we’re kind of like-minded about pregnancies.

I think I’m just going to go with him – the husband likes him a lot as well, and he practices close-ish to our house, at a hospital I trust. I’ll probably give him a call on Monday.

Leave a Reply

Categories

