Posted by: Court | May 19, 2010

10 weeks, new OB

For the past two nights, I have woken up in the wee hours of this morning and couldn’t fall back asleep or get comfortable. We have a queen bed, and I can’t imagine how we’re going to fit a growing belly and a pregnancy pillow in there with the two of us – especially given how much I move in my sleep and how tall Tim is.

The insomnia thing – I was reading about it the other day and the woman said she’d just get out of bed and clean or do laundry. Hmmm…maybe the desire to be productive at 2 a.m. will come in the nesting phase of my third trimester? But for now, I just sit there with random songs running through my head and pray that I’ll fall back asleep quickly. It wouldn’t be such a big deal if I didn’t have to get up and go to work, you know?

As previously mentioned, I called my old OB’s nurse at 9:30 on Thursday morning. I still have not heard back from her as of Wednesday afternoon. I have deemed this unacceptable and have already made the switch-eroo to my friend’s OB. I called Monday morning and they called me back within 30 minutes. I was able to get an appointment for this morning! Now, that’s what I call service. The woman I spoke with was really kind and easy-going, and as I found out today, so is the rest of the office staff.

So: today’s appointment. I finally got to do an abdominal u/s!! So glad to have “graduated” to those. : ) Baby is measuring at 10 weeks today (one day ahead of schedule, though I imagine that fluctuates) and has a heart rate of 168! I got to hear it for the first time today (I’d only seen it at appointments with the RE) and it was pretty crazy. Baby did some more dancing and waving, and the doc said, “It just couldn’t look any better.”

He was very friendly, easy to talk to, informative, and didn’t rush me in the least. He answered all of my questions, gave me samples of a different prenatal since the one I’m currently taking is difficult to ingest, recommended some B6 and half of a Unisom to help with the night queasiness (when it’s worst right now) and sent me on my way with a packet of fun baby goodies – including a hearty book that looks like it will be my go-to for the rest of the pregnancy.

I’ll see him again in two weeks (Tim is working AGAIN and is pretty bummed), then probably only monthly until the third trimester. Which, holy cow, is only 14 weeks away! I am officially 25% through this pregnancy!

Last night was rough – Tim had cooked himself a steak on the grill and I flipped out, accusing him of knowing that it would upset my tummy. Then I saw that he had taken an old shirt of mine (which *did* have a hole) and used it to clean his golf clubs. I had mentioned a while back that I was going to use it to make a blanket since it was so soft. So I got ticked about that as well and sulked upstairs to our bedroom.

A few minutes later I called down to him and asked him to come upstairs and sit with me. I apologized for being so crazy and started crying, saying I was tired of feeling sick, I wanted to eat normal food again, and “I don’t think I can go through another pregnancy. This is going to be our only child!” He said, “That’s fine,” while we both know we will probably have another. I just can’t imagine not having a sibling (he can – he is an only child and has turned out wonderfully, obviously : ) ).

I have apparently lost five pounds since I got pregnant. I was asking the OB about baby getting nutrition, and he said the yolk sac nourishes the baby for the first trimester, so I should just eat whenever I can. I only have two doses of Crin.one left (Friday and Sunday), then at 12 weeks I get to start weaning off Pro.me.trium, so hopefully the m/s will go away soon! Pro.me.trium never seemed to make me sick, either, so hopefully I’ll feel a bit better after the Crin.one is out of my system.

Leave a Reply

Categories

