Posted by: Court | June 16, 2010

13 weeks, 6 days

After the stomach flu from Hades passed, I have felt much better the past two days. I was able to eat a full dinner (albeit a kid’s meal from Bost.on. Mar.ket) last night. And the weirdest thing happened. I was completely full, but as I got ready for bed, I was coming up with all of these things that sounded sooo yummy. Like that ranch/sour cream dip and Ru.ff.les! And a plain bagel, not toasted, that I could rip into pieces and dip in cream cheese! It’s nice to want to eat again, and hopefully that will continue moving forward!

I was always told that I’d have to go to the bathroom about once an hour once I got pregnant. This just wasn’t the case with me in the first trimester! I did get up usually once a night, sometimes twice, to go to the bathroom, but during the day I didn’t notice any changes. Well I am two days into the second trimester and I am finding myself going much more frequently! I can’t remember if I went three or four times last night, but I slept horribly because I kept waking up and having trouble falling back to sleep.

Last night a million songs were running through my head and I couldn’t shut them out. Well one of them brought me the inspiration for a boy nursery! The song “Blanket for a Sail” was on the “For our Children” tape that we listened to ad nauseum when I was a child. As I lay there singing it in my head last night, inspiration struck! Tim raced sailboats the majority of his childhood and adolescence, so it’s a cute nod to the babe’s daddy. : ) Then I figured we could tie in my childhood by using part of the lyrics from “Blanket for a Sail:”

The law of the ocean
Says that you shall never fail
Just use your heart as a rudder
Faith as a compass
And a blanket for a sail

I have several ideas of how we could incorporate the lyrics, from painting them directly on the walls, to canvases, etc. And I found some super cute sailboat bedding at PBKids.

Of course, this will all be for naught if the little one is a girl! I’m really hoping to find out in just over two weeks at our 16 week appointment. Otherwise, we’ll have to wait until 20 weeks. Wow…can’t believe that’s only six weeks away!

Leave a Reply

Categories

