Posted by: Court | July 6, 2010

16 weeks, 5 days

We had a nice long weekend. Friday morning I had my 16 week appointment at the OB. Blood pressure is great, baby looks great…unfortunately I am still down from my pre-pregnancy weight due to severe morning sickness. The OB has assured me that the baby is fine and will take what it needs from me. So the problem is my health, not the baby’s.

They tested my urine for ketones and thankfully it came back negative. But I have to go back in two weeks instead of four to check my weight. I am now on round-the-clock Zo.fran p.il.ls (I had just been taking them when I felt nauseous), but it’s barely taking the edge off. The OB mentioned the possibility of putting me on a Zo.fran pump if I’m still not putting on weight and am still having trouble eating at 18 weeks (the next time I see him).

Also, I declined the blood screen that checks for Trisomy 18, Down Syndrome and…something else. There is about a 20% false positive rate on this test, and why would I want to worry myself over that?! I have a friend who recently got a false positive and was worried sick for no reason for quite a long time. And if it did come back positive, I’d need an amniocentesis and that carries a risk of m/c. So given my age and relatively low risk for any of those issues, I declined.

Still having a hard time, but that aside, baby looked great! He/she was moving so much, we couldn’t get a peek to check for the gender. What an active baby! We got to see his/her femur, which is just amazing. That measured one week ahead, so that’s excellent. Amniotic fluid looks great, baby’s stomach measured on track, now if we can just get him/her to calm down a bit at 18 weeks so we can see if it’s a boy or a girl!

We spent most of the weekend at the lake. It’s just not the same since I can’t waterski, jetski and ride in the boat! Plus, the weather was pretty gross, so we just stayed inside most of the time. Yesterday we slept in until 9:30 (lovely!), got bagels for breakfast, then went to walk around Ba.bie.sR.Us. We probably won’t register for several more weeks, but we had time to kill and food to digest, and figured it couldn’t hurt to take a look around.

We found a crib we really like, and a carseat/stroller pattern we both like. Other than that it was just random browsing. We went to Hal.f Pr.ice Bo.oks afterward and bought Bab.y Ba.rga.ins, which I can tell will be quite helpful. It’s bizarre that we will soon know the gender of this little miracle and that will make it seem all the more real.

I’ve discovered that the babe likes to move around a lot after I sneeze, which makes me enjoy sneezing. : ) I also discovered that if I “wiggle” my lower abdomen back and forth, baby will generally move. I was telling Tim about it, and asked if he wanted to try. So he gave my lower abdomen a gentle shake and baby moved around! I can’t wait until Tim can feel the kicks, as he thought it was really cool just to be able to cause them.

Lastly, last night we were over visiting with our goddaughter. We had fun sticking our feet in her kiddie pool while she splashed about and was generally cute. But my favorite part of the evening was her gently patting my tummy, giving it a kiss, and saying, “Night night, baby!” after her mom explained that there was a baby growing in there.

I am 16 weeks, 5 days pregnant with a very active little one!

Leave a Reply

Categories

